You Can Opt Out

You don’t have to Google it.
You don’t have to respond.
You don’t have to reply.
You don’t have to read the notification.
You don’t have to charge your phone.
You don’t have to read that update.
You do not have to watch the video.
You do not have to.

You do not have to.

You can sit.
Or stand.
Or lie down.
Without your phone.
In a car or on a plane,
At an office, on a train.

I did not see the video.
I have not read the story.
I have not seen that meme.
I do not know who that is.
I do not know the answer.
I do not know the answer.
Let’s ponder what the answer could be,
And in so doing, open up a world.

What if we sat, the only distraction between us the wind in the trees?

I do not know the answer,
And I will not Google it.
Not this time.

4 thoughts on “You Can Opt Out

Leave a Reply

